Membership Updates

Highlighting new Association Forum members and changes for current members

By the FORUM Magazine editors

FRM JulAug MembershipUpdate

Promotions and Changes

American Thyroid Association Announces New Executive Director

Amanda Perl

The American Thyroid Association® (ATA) proudly announces the appointment of Amanda Perl as the organization’s new executive director, as of May 11, 2020. She succeeds Bobbi Smith, who is retiring after 24 years of dedicated and transformative leadership for the ATA. Perl and Smith will work together to transition responsibilities and management of the ATA staff.

“A sincere thanks to the selection committee, led by John Morris, for selecting a superb new executive director for the ATA,” said ATA president Martha Zeiger. “I have no doubt that Amanda Perl, building on the ATA’s strong foundation created by Bobbi Smith, will bring the ATA to a whole new level in the world of medical societies.”

Perl brings more than 20 years of experience in association leadership, with expertise in educational program development, strategic planning, governance training and international program development. She is currently the chief global member engagement officer at the Endocrine Society, where she has led the creation of the society’s special interest groups to increase member engagement and value.

In her time with the Endocrine Society, Perl has also expanded leadership and governance training programs, particularly by launching the award-winning Global Leadership Academy, and built partnerships with other global organizations focused on endocrine health.

Before joining the Endocrine Society, Perl spent nine years with the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT), where she launched the Certified Food Scientist certification program and led fundraising initiatives for the IFT Foundation.

“I am excited to join the ATA team,” Perl said. “ATA has a strong foundation and rich history, and I look forward to working with the ATA leadership and staff to move the organization forward.”

New Association Forum Members

Individual Members

Jill Bokalders, American Board of Medical Specialties

Mary Burke, Columbia County Board of REALTORS®

Megan Collette, BenchPrep

Alex Corrao, McKenna Design Group, Inc.

Kevin Fitzpatrick, Enforme Interactive

Dan Foley, Adage Technologies

Maria Rinaldi, Projectify IT Services

Lynn Rotunno, Illinois Park and Recreation Association

Teri Stech, Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (POSNA)

Mark Thomas, Electrical Contractors’ Association of the City of Chicago

Sarah Thompson, YWCA USA

Forum Plus Members

Karina Barajas, American Academy of Implant Dentistry

Elias Vesterfelt, American Academy of Implant Dentistry

Barbara Larson, American Association of Endodontists

Kathryn Dattomo, American Association of Neurological Surgeons

Kristen Simmons, American College of Healthcare Executives

Emily Stephens, American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians

Colleen Norton, American College of Prosthodontists

Rachel Yehl, American College of Prosthodontists

Kendall Coleman, American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Ginger Clark, American Society of Anesthesiologists

Jamie Storyward, Association of Legal Administrators

Madhuri Carson, Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals

Meltoya Jones, CCIM Institute

Toral Patel, CCIM Institute

Khristen Phillips, CCIM Institute

Evan Stober, Coin Laundry Association

Emilija Piric, College of American Pathologists

Claudia Espinel, Institute of Food Technologists

Sandra Ibe, Institute of Real Estate Management

Emily Bastedo, ISACA/IT Governance Institute

Abby Baughan, Mechanical Contractors Association

Tom Van Jacobs, National Sporting Goods Association

Laurel Ashley Brummel, SmithBucklin

Erin Cannon, SmithBucklin

Kristin Ann Frankiewicz, SmithBucklin

Elizabeth Hansen, SmithBucklin

Jacqueline Jarene Kiley, SmithBucklin

Gregory James McIlraith, SmithBucklin

Jessica Morgan, SmithBucklin

Kristen Perry, SmithBucklin

Gianna Scheuneman, SmithBucklin

Audra Marcotte Schuler, SmithBucklin

Lynette Dummer, Society for Vascular Surgery

Adruleka Johnson, Society for Vascular Surgery

Tara Degl’Innocenti, Society of Actuaries Research Institute

Esraa Aburass, Society of Women Engineers

Juliet Crowell, Society of Women Engineers

Kristen Davidson, Society of Women Engineers

Gadeer Jaber, Society of Women Engineers

Natalie Jones, Society of Women Engineers

Markita Riley, Society of Women Engineers

Abby Watson, Society of Women Engineers

About the Author

Written by the FORUM Magazine editors

Related Articles


Association Forum Honors Former CEO Chris Mahaffey with Naming of Inspiring Leader Award  

The prestigious award will not be named the Chris Mahaffey Inspiring Leader Award.


Member Spotlight: Nicole Araujo, CAE

You'll never guess the names of Nicole Araujo's cats. Read her member spotlight to find...

Congratulations to the 2024 Honors Award Recipients

Association Forum Announces 2024 Honors Award Recipients

Association Forum is proud to announce the Honors Award recipients for our most prestigious awards—to...